Really excellent blog post on keeping gender (and some of the heat) out of post-separation parenting support’

Quantum Valeat

I have spent the last few months or so looking at the wide variety of self-help and support organisations and groups that exist to help parents when experiencing family breakdown.  For the last 7 years my work has been, and continues to be  advising people on all aspects of family law, but mostly parents who are faced with issues relating to arrangements for their children, – that’s both mothers and fathers. My approach is simple; treat each person as an individual regardless of gender, regardless of whether they are the resident parent or not, and to tailor my advice according the emotional needs of the client – it’s both counselling and factual legal advice. I  promote non-adversarial methods and encourage parents to use mediation services, use parenting agreements, and above all, keep everything focused on their children.

The main issue I found while looking at the various groups who support…

View original post 960 more words

